Pee is for Primatologists

After tracking and studying a troop of capuchin monkeys for two and a half days, I experienced one of my first rights of passage as a field primatologist in the making. After a long day of observing the monkeys, I was perplexed by the feeling of something wet falling on my face. I looked up and hesitated. Was it raining? No, wait, it doesn’t rain in the dry season in Palo Verde. By the time I realized what was happening, I already had a face full of capuchin pee. Tom says I can’t be a real primatologist until I get peed on, though, so I guess I’m one step closer! And while I don’t know which member was the culprit, Matt assures me that I made that monkey’s day.

Pura Vida,

Miranda Stein

Aggy, (short for Augustine), the alpha male of the troop, bearing his teeth in a manner that resembles a smile. He was actually threatening me for looking at him for too long.
Aggy, (short for Augustine), the alpha male of the troop, bearing his teeth in a manner that resembles a smile. He was actually threatening me for looking at him for too long.

 

Leave a Reply

